top of page

Particle effects in Unreal Engine|Nikoleta-Week 16

Prototype


1. Particle basics and testing 

I decided to do something simple just to try out the base system as I haven't worked with particles in general in a long time. I decided to make a simple dust particle system around the statue. 


First, the UI for the Niagara Particle Effects looks nice and intuitive. I like that I can choose from a list of presets that cover the most common use cases. It is easy to read, and it is a time saver.  

Next the effect editor is laid out nicely and it takes a few minutes to understand the basic functions and why the default setup is the way it is. For example, the wind force parameters give you the most control and with only a few adjustments I got the perfect dust effect. 

 

The wind speed adds more movement to the particles. The Wind Speed Scale makes them move faster, and the Turbulence Mode gives a pattern to the direction. 

The Dust setup was easy and did not take too much time, so I decided to make something more unique. 




2. My particle effect 

I searched online for what other VFX artists do that might seem interesting and fit the model. I decided to make 3D Mesh particles that spin around in interesting patterns almost like a flock of birds or like they are alive. I wanted to create a feeling that they might be nanobots or some kind of entity moving around the scene. 



I decided the particles would look best if they were reflective cubes because they would look a bit like nanobots this way. I also made them quite big, so it is obvious that they are solid objects and not dust. 

I approached the movement by adding a Force point in the center of the effect that would collect the particles together. I did some research online and found out that I could use multiple patterns to manipulate the wind force, so I used this technique to force the particles to move in random curving streams in the air. Then it was only a matter of adjusting parameters to make it look more alive. 

 

I changed the material to glowing, so it is more visible on the video. 


Comments


bottom of page